Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Crime is a serious and growing problem in most of the societies. The crime rate in different countries is increasing day by day. Although some people believe that long time prison sentences is the effective way to decline crime, others think that other different methods can reduce crime. I agree with the letter view.

There are benefits of longer period on imprisonment. Firstly, in prison, different prison services help the offenders to rehabilitate. It helps them to re-educate, as a result, it discourage them to re-offend crime. Secondly, it is also a lesson for the individuals who are thinking of committing crimes. So, it deterrent them to commit different law breaking activities.

There are also some drawbacks of longer period of prison sentences. The offenders who committed minor crimes meet with highly profiled criminals in prison. Therefore, it is a possibility that these criminals can influence to do more crimes.

On the other hand, other against the longer prison sentences and think that other best method can help to reduce crime in the societies. One of the alternative way is community services. This type of services can help the offenders to feel guilty about what they have done and also improve their character. In assistant to this, it also helps the government to know more about different crime, so that they can analyze it and can prevent new types of crimes.

To sum up, from the above discussion it is clear that a longer period of imprisonment is not the best way to reduce crime. For the reduction of crime rate, other methods are also effective. So, the government should apply these methods to decrease the different crime rates.