Some people think that the best way to solve global environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, environmental problems are increasingly concerned among a large group of popularity. While some people think that raising the petrol costs is the most efficient way to preserve the environment, I agree that taking that measure is good for our habitat but there are other equally effective ways to address this issue.

First of all, increasing the fuel cost does help reduce the pollution in many parts of the planet to a certain degree. When making the fuel more expensive, the vehicle volumes on roads can drop to the minimum. In addition to that, the amount of fume emitted from cars using fuels will certainly decrease so that the air becomes fresher than ever. However, this phenomenon will not stay still in a long term period since raising petrol costs makes factories increase production and more pollutants are released.

Second, there is a myriad of effective measures that governments should take with an aim to preserve the surrounding habitat. One of them is investing in green technology. By making eco-friendly sources of energy more accessible and affordable, we can greatly reduce our negative impact on the environment. Another way is to educate citizens about the paramount importance of the environment as well as its effects on human beings. Once people grasp an in-depth knowledge about environment, they will start environmentally-friendly activities such as switching their private fuel car into an electric one or being more responsible with the domestic waste.

In conclusion, increasing the price of petrol is one of good measures to solve environmental issues, and other ways should also be taken into great consideration.