It is suggested that primary children should learn how to grow vegetables and keep animals.

Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In contemporary days, people argue that elementary school students should be provided with necessary gardening and husbandry skills. While this practice poses certain risks to children, I believe that its advantages are overweighting the disadvantages.

On the one hand, there are some inherent dangers in allowing agricultural and horticultural teaching in school curriculums. Firstly, children might be susceptible to certain potentially infectious diseases. The environment for planting trees or raising cattle is known to be home to various kinds of parasites that make it unsuitable for minors. They may have to face leech bites, parasitic flatworms, or toxic plants. Secondly, schoolchildren might injure themselves with farming tools regularly. Knives, axes, or trowels are indispensable tools when it comes to farming and keeping animals, however, they are unduly dangerous for children to use as they are not experienced enough.

On the other hand, I believe that the aforementioned disadvantages are eclipsed by the advantages that could be gained when teaching minors how to farm and raise cattle. To begin with, cultivation and animal husbandry plays a crucial role in encouraging children to participate in physical exercises. Children nowadays are more favorable to the sedentary lifestyles that make them become lazier and more dependent. Therefore, teaching minors the way to farm and care for animals will defuse the rate they stare at the television. By doing this regularly, children can be away from the temptation of video games, for example. Additionally, involving classes about growing vegetables and raising animals can instill in children a variety of virtues and living skills, such as independence, patience, and empathy. More specifically, in gardening, after sowing seeds into the soil, it can take several weeks for the vegetables to grow so during the growth process, youngsters need to water and catch harmful insects every day in order to protect their vegetables.

In conclusion, although there are some certain disadvantages of teaching schoolchildren how to grow vegetables and keep animals, it seems to me that this practice’s advantages are more noticeably significant.