Some people think certain prisoners should be made to do unpaid community work instead of being put behind bars. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In order to create a safe and sustainable environment, officials should reform the society. I do agree up to some extent that those criminals who commit low level crime must be made to do unpaid work. While, severe criminals should be put behind the bars.

There are number of ways available where certain prisoners / criminals can be assignedan unpaid work instead of putting them behind the bars.For instance, cleaning streets, planting trees and working for charity are suitable tasks where these offenders may be asked to do such works. This may help to reduce the environment problems and provide opportunity to lawbreakers to keep themselves engaged in society beneficial activities. Although, this strategy may increase in number of crimes because the offenders feel themselves free even after doing wrong things but in parallel this is quite an effective way to make such criminals realize to tread on right path.

On the contrary, the brutal Offenders who are involved in serious Crime like Murder, Hijacking, Rape, Abduction and so on / the like / so forth on, they must be punished and put behind bars in order to set an example in the society so that no one can be ableto take such wrong steps to ruin anyone’s life. Besides this, nature of crime should be taken in to account. For example, if a child steals food from a store as his mother is starving in completely a different scenario than someone robbing an old lady. The former deserves a second chance while the second should be imprisoned.

To recapitulate, someone with no criminal record and if found in slight misconduct must be treated differently than serious killers. The objective of the law is to maintain peace in the society, not to punish people. Thus unpaid community services is a great chance for criminals to bring them back to their normal life.