Some people think certain prisoners should be made to do unpaid community work instead of being put behind bars. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Politicians around the world are struggling to reduce the crime rate, ratcheting up efforts to ensure that it is declined to a negligible level. It is often suggested by some experts that rather than incarcerating the offenders, their services should be utilized for the welfare of society. In my view, there is no harm in taking the services of criminals provided they are not set free and confined to stay on certain premises.

Set criminals free simply in return for volunteer work would have unwanted repercussions. According to legal experts, imprisoning the offenders in jail is one of the deterrent steps, which has been taken globally to curb the crime rate. If wrongdoers know that the only consequence of their illegal activities is to perform unpaid work, they would fearlessly remain involved in such heinous acts. Such mild punishment would ultimately lead to an increase in crime incidents.

There is no doubt that criminals could be used constructively for the betterment of society. Firstly, those imprisoned in jail could be transferred to a place where they can serve humanity. In other words, rather than placing them in traditional jails, those convicted could be confined to old houses to serve the elderly. Similarly, there is an opportunity to deploy them in foster homes to teach children or provide sports training. Finally, they could be used as a volunteer to work in hospitals to serve debilitated patients.

To conclude, the most pragmatic approach to punish the criminals while reaping the benefits of their service at the same time is to confine them to places where their services could be used effectively