One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing, is this a curse or blessing?

With the development of medication and health care, people are more likely to live longer than before. I tend to believe that the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages.

Generally, living longer means that people could have more time to spend on what they like. Firstly, this will allow people to pursue their hobbies. Most of our time is spent in earning a livelihood and we rarely get time for ourselves. For example, if I have a life expectancy of more than a hundred years, I will probably spend the next 20 years mastering a musical instrument such as a piano. Secondly, scientists might have more time to do their research for a better world. Imagine if Einstein, Newton and all the brilliant scientists could live longer, they might have contributed more to the development of science. Thirdly, longer life expectancy means we have more time to spend with our family and friends, whom many people always regret that they should have spent more time with.

On the other hand, a longer life probably means that government needs to spend more money on caring for old people instead of education or other equally important areas. This may have adverse consequences on the future of a country since the money is invested in people who do not contribute to economic development. If these funds are invested in education and skill development of the youth, the country will have a brighter future.

To sum up, there are some downsides of living longer, however, the advantages generally overweigh them. And some of the disadvantages of a longer life could be dealt with the benefit that living longer brings.