Some people think certain prisoners should be made to do unpaid community work instead of being put behind bars. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, there has been an upsurge in the number of offenders all over the world and the ways to find efficacious remedies to this alarming rate of crimes. It is quite controversial that whether or not prisoners ought to engage in community order as an alternative to being put behind bars. From my point of view, I wholeheartedly agree with this statement due to some following reasons.

First and foremost, one potential benefit of making sinners do social services is that they can make a great contribution to the development of the whole society. For example, when culprits clean the streets, the beaches, or plant trees in the park, the environmental pollution will decrease as well as our living environment will be well enhanced. That definitely helps local individuals less likely to suffer from many diseases due to some external causes.

Furthermore, in respect to the criminals themselves, they can feel a sense of being respected and recognized by the community. This will exert a positive impact on their cognitive development especially youngsters that they are also be capable of devoting to the society and making our world become better and better like other people without any barriers. As a result, they will be motivated and do social affairs more thoroughly, more willingly in preference to be forced to do behind bars.

Last but not least, when offenders expose to individuals through casework, it is more likely that people are going to reduce their prejudices to those who are prisoners on the grounds that they have improved their personalities by means of doing good deeds to others. Therefore, after they are released back into the society, it intensifies the possibility that people will give ex-offenders a chance of rehabilitation and help them embark a normally meaningful life and become a helpful citizen.

To recapitulate, I wholeheartedly believe that felonies should be encouraged to do welfare work rather than being imposed to work behind bars. It is crucial to have a significant influence on their minds, their consciousness, which will help them make a fresh start more easily after in custodial sentence.