Some people think that children should begin their foreign language study at a very early age. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Children are usually educated differently according to their environments. It seems to many parents that foreign languages should be taught to children at an early stage of education. While it contains a variety of benefits such as increasing fluency in adulthood, doing so will have some drawbacks.

Nowadays, studying a second language is always a necessary requirement in education. On the one hand, it is clear that teaching children a foreign language would create obvious positive aspects. One evident strength is that it would increase fluency in adulthood because of practice in childhood. As a result, self-confidence will be promoted in the majority of situations when socializing. Another reason is that it would improve overall cognitive abilities. In other words, mastering language subjects also improve their aptitude in other fields such as mathematics and social science.

On the other hand, it will be a big mistake to believe that starting foreign language study at a very early age is totally beneficial. Unless being educated precisely, children will face problems between their second language and their mother tongue. Last but not least, early education in foreign languages may lead to misusing and ignorance of their own country’s traditions and language.

In conclusion, while there are plus points in encouraging children to study foreign languages at the early beginning, balancing them and children’s mother tongue should be focused on.