Some people think that children should learn geography in school. However, some others think that it is more important to learn subjects that are more relevant to life. What is your opinion?

According to some people subjects like geography are not particularly helpful for students and hence they should not be taught at school. In my opinion, all subjects should be given equal importance up to high school. Afterwards, students should have the option of studying only those subjects they want to study.

Contrary to what a lot of people might think, geography is actually a useful subject. It gives us information about the world we live in. It makes us familiar with our landscapes and various natural phenomena. A decent understanding of geography is essential to travel safely and efficiently. Geography can even save lives. For example, by studying weather patterns, many natural disasters can be predicted and life and property can be saved.

To exemplify, In India, the prediction of cyclone Titli in 2018, saved hundreds of lives as people were moved from the epicenter of the storm to safer refugee camps in time. Thus, it is evident that geography is certainly a useful and relevant subject and it should be taught and learned.

Having said that, other subjects like science, mathematics and computer are also important. Actually, students pursuing science subjects tend to have better career opportunities. Because of this reason many parents and teachers insist that only these subjects should be taught at school. In my opinion, it is a faulty approach because a basic understanding of every subject including history, geography and literature is essential to succeed in this world. Actually, there is no such thing as an irrelevant subject because knowledge of all kinds benefits us in one way or the other. Hence, rather than eliminating geography from the school curriculum, we should make it an optional subject after high school.

To conclude, all subjects are important and beneficial and hence all of them should be taught to school students. However, at the secondary and tertiary level, career oriented courses like science and technology should be given more importance and subjects like history and geography should be optional.