Most people have forgotten the meaning behind traditional or religious festivals; during festival periods, people nowadays only want to enjoy themselves.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Nowadays people are not concerned about the traditional and religious festival, they do not celebrate it as they used to celebrate in the past. Instead they enjoy with themselves only. There are various factors which affects habits of people and some of them are included in the paragraph. The traditions and festivals are fading away as people are considering it as a formality only, people should focus on celebrating with everybody. I believe that festivals are meant to celebrate in unity.

The era of technology affects highly on the thinking and mentality of people. Most people are usually engaged in their mobile phones , taking photos rather than enjoying festival. For instance, Christmas is the festival in which everyone should gather and pray for the Jesus Christ together, but nowadays people are enjoying by watching it on a television rather than going to church. Moreover, people are wishing each other over mobile phones rather than meeting physically. These habits are shame for festival itself.

The education also plays an important role for teaching about festivals to children and adults. Most schools do not educate children about the basic festival and tradition of their culture. Even the adults do not know the deep knowledge of festival, they don't know what things to be done during the festivals like going to the church or temples. Consequently, lack of awareness in children as well adults regarding festivals lead to the lost meaning of the festival. Meanwhile, they end up celebrating in their home only.

In conclusion, the true meaning of festival can be explained, if people do not merge technology with festivals, and by getting more aware about their own festivals and traditions. I strongly agree with the statement that people are celebrating festivals with themselves only and not getting social with everybody. In some way, the word festival also means gathering and celebrating together.