Most people have forgotten the meaning behind traditional or religious festivals; during festival periods, people nowadays only want to enjoy themselves.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Nowadays people live in a very modern world, which defines many aspects of a contemporary lifestyle. As a result, many residents forgot about the purpose of many national activities, so people enjoy themselves. In fact, there are two underlying reasons for this that I will explore in the following essay.

Firstly, citizens of many countries have a very busy life. One should note here that students have a tight schedule at university and their parents spend many hours at work. This situation relates to the technological development, that pushes people to do more and to know more than ever before. Consequently, working class does not have enough free time to enjoy themselves or to visit relatives during work days, but holidays provide this opportunity. Therefore, teens and adults look forward to different kinds of festivals and carnivals, because of free days that they contain, so humans don’t care about the meaning and just spend their time with pleasure.

Secondly, globalisation may play an important role in this process. In fact, nowadays plenty of various cultures mix with each other, so people start to follow only several aspects from them. A great example can be found in Russia, where the great majority of teenagers like to celebrate the Halloween. Despite the fact, that this is not an official holiday in this country and religious residents do not approve the Halloween, it is still a great event among young generations. However, these people are not aware of all features of this festival, so they use only scary costumes, make frightening squashes and watch scary movies with friends. As a result, there is no point in this festival, but enjoying unusual free time.

To draw the conclusion, because of the reasons above, I believe that people prefer to enjoy themselves during festivals instead of remembering the meanings of such events.