Modern technology has made it easier for individuals to download copyrighted music and books from the internet for no charge.

To what extent is this a positive or a negative development?

There is no doubt that the Internet has changed the way how people live and what they do. Particularly, contemporary technologies allow to pirate copyrighted materials and not to pay money for it. Personally, I strongly believe that this is a negative development for individuals and a society, so let us consider some detrimental effects.

Firstly, in most cases books and music from the Internet have an author, so they are protected by the law. One should note here that governments create rules for everybody in order to live in a calm and a peace place. Consequently, if an individual violates the law, the police has to write a fine or to put this person into prison. The same principle works for an digital property, because buying or downloading materials from non-official sources is an illegal action. As a result, such people can get a lot of problems with the police or an author and receive a huge fine for these actions.

Secondly, creators have less incentives to work due to money shortages. To be more specific, every person all over the world does its job in order to earn a salary and to buy important needs. Book writers, musicians and software developers do their job for money too, but when users download products for no charge, creators can’t receive income for the work. Therefore, workers have no wish to develop and innovate, so this fact endangers the whole industry in a particular place. In addition, new companies are less likely to sell their products on such markets.

To draw the conclusion, I am of the opinion that the possibility to get copyrighted materials for free has a strongly negative effect on individuals because of fines as well as on a community due to several consequences in this industry.