Some people think that excessive use of smart phones badly affects teenager’s literacy skills. Do you agree or disagree?

In our current society, smart phones have become a necessity for almost everyone. They are useful gadgets for people to stay connected. Most teenagers start to own a mobile phone when they are in high school, for them to contact their parents or loved ones.

Smartphones are now equipped with numerous applications. These include social media platforms and sophisticated games, which mostly are free to download. Among them are Instagram, Facebook. Furthermore, games have been designed to become livelier and more interactive, examples such as Brawl Stars and Clash of Clans. Teenagers get easily addicted to such interactive games, eventually spending long hours, sometimes till late at night just to complete certain demands of the game. Neglecting their sleep would be detrimental to those who have school the next day. Lack of sleep often results in students being less attentive in class, a time where they should be learning to improve academically.

The internet has also become accessible via our smartphones, offering vast amounts of information to read up on during their free time. On the other hand, teenagers usually use this time to update their social image or status. The time being spent on social media could instead be used for reading and gaining new knowledge. Lack of reading practice may impair their reading competence in the future.

In addition to reading skills, teenagers’ ability to write well also would be affected by overusing their mobile phones. Through the frequent use of social media, teenagers chat online through messenger applications, commonly using short forms and abbreviations. This could become a bad habit when they incorporate the improper language into their written work.

In conclusion, I feel that the excessive use of smartphones has adverse effects on the teenagers of today, having an impact on their literacy skills. Hence, I recommend that teenagers exercise the self-discipline on the time spent on their mobile phones.