More and more wild animals are on the verge of extinction and others are on the endangered list. What are the reasons for this? What can be done to solve this problem?

Is it noteworthy that as of right now, numerous species of animals have their numbers declining at drastic rates. In recent years, there has been an upsurge in poaching and illegal trafficking of animal parts. Namely rhino horns, elephant tusks and pangolin scales. These activities have been driven by the increasing demand, where China is the biggest consumer market for such products.

In fact in Singapore, as early as in July this year, there was a large shipment of Elephant tusks and Pangolin seized. Most of these animals have been hunted and exploited for their body parts. Some animals are even left to bleed to death after hunters chop off what they want. The ivory from the tusks are often carved into ornaments and jewellery. Furthermore, these items have become increasingly common for use as a status symbol to display success and wealth. Rhino horns and Pangolin scales are also demand in the Asian market as they are being used in traditional Chinese medicine, despite no proven medicinal benefit from their use.

There is no doubt that human impact is the key factor contributing to make the situation worse. Therefore, raising awareness of people is the wisest and most sustainable solution in this urgent circumstance. Wildlife organisations could raise campaigns to encourage people to stay away from the luxurious goods that are made from animal parts and opt for artificial ones instead. The government could also implement more stringent laws and heftier fines on illegal trafficking of animal parts. They could also provide more funding for nature reserves and wildlife sanctuaries, who will take in some of the wounded animals to nurse them back to full fitness before releasing them in the wild again.

In conclusion, human activities are a main cause of animals nearing extinction. But, by following the above methods, I believe we would see a decline in poaching activities as well as the number of these animal species who will be able to roam freely again.