Some people believe that studying at university or college is the best route to a successful career, while others believe that it is better to get a job straight after school.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

After completing high school, teenagers would face the dilemma of whether to choose between getting a job or to continue their education. In my opinion, it is better to further their studies by enrolling into a university or college after school.

Students with more qualifications have access to better job opportunities with better numeration. Nowadays, many professions require certain qualifications. For instance, it is impossible to become a doctor, lawyer or teacher without having the relevant certificates. Furthermore, studying in such institutions also offers an internship for students, where they are assigned to a company and graded based on their performance. They could be offered a full-time job at the company after graduation. Moreover, the job market is very competitive, many applicants are competing for one position. Hence, those with university degree or professional certificates would prove to be advantageous. As a result, having a degree from college or university would lead to a successful career.

The option to get a job after school may have some beneficial. Early exposure to the workforce and gaining real experience allows them to progress more quickly in their chosen field. On the contrary, these young people may face difficulties in career advancement. For example, some might not be able to attain promotion after hitting a career plateau. They might also find themselves stuck in the industry they were working, harder to go elsewhere due to their limited qualifications. This results in fewer career choices. Therefore, they might find themselves lacking when competing with their counterparts returning from further studies.

In conclusion, I strongly believe it is advisable for teenagers to continue their studies beyond school level. This would pave the way for smooth career succession in the future.