Some people think that Genetically modified (GM) crops are a positive development. Others, however, argue that they are potentially dangerous. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Modern science has made it possible to alter the genetics of our produces, in order to provide better vegetables and food crops. However, it has also been observed that altered food had side effects as well. This essay will examine the positive and negative side of this development.

On one hand, the production of crops has seen significant growth, with the help of genetically modified seeds provided to the farmers by the agriculture industry. For instance, these genetically modified crops are more climate-resilient and high-yielding which result in more production and more benefit. Furthermore, expansion in production farmers are also enjoying a better economy. Also, these crops are cheaper than naturally grown crops, hence people prefer to buy inorganic food more often.

On the other hand, these genetically modified food are harming consumers immensely. For example, an enormous amount of synthetic hormones are used for creating genetically modified food, which is dangerous for the human body. These hormones reluctant to absorbed by the human body neither they flush out, hence they may cause lethal diseases such as cancer which is incurable.

In addition to this, scientific studies have proved that chemicals such as fertilizers and herbicides used in growing these vegetables and food items, adding these to the diet may hamper the growth of children as well. Moreover, compared to organic produces these produces lack in nutrition as well.

In conclusion, even though food production has expanded and food is easily available on inexpensive prices, however in my opinion, the quality has been decreased and consuming these crops has more demerits than the merits.