Some people think that good health is a basic human need, so the medical service should not be run by profit-making companies. Do you think the disadvantages of private health care outweigh the advantages?

It is true that the question of whether the health care services run by private companies bring more benefits or more drawbacks remains controversy. In my opinion, I believe that the disadvantages of this outweigh its advantages.

On the one hand, an increasing number of benefits are gained from private health care. The first one could be that if citizens living in the city take out private health insurance, they will be offered comprehensively primary health care services. As a result, urban residents would have the good health and annual mortal rate would be reduced gradually. From making-profit companies perspective, they will be more likely to have motivations to carry out some facility improvements such as superseding the old-fashion machines by new and more advanced ones. If private corporations do not accept facility changes, they will be more likely to lost competitive edge. This leads to the fact that making-profit enterprises easily fail to account for most market share in the medical field.

On the other hand, despite some advantages expressed above, running medical services by private companies pose a threat to both national authorities and citizens. From the national leader perspective, it is difficult for government to keep profit-making companies under control strictly, encouraging those companies which concentrate on profit to make use of power generated by self-proclaimed medical service corporations to raise profit by selling illegal drugs. Consequently, this leads to some deteriorations in some aspects of society such as crime, drug addiction. If medical services are managed by making-profit companies, an enormous number of residents will be less likely to afford these services. Therefore, the citizens’ living standard will be undermined gradually, leading gross domestic product of nation to reduction.

In conclusion, medical services run by private companies bring more negative impacts than positive ones. Therefore, authorities should control health services by themselves and not allow any companies to manage.