Some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts and that this money could be better spent elsewhere.

To what extent do you agree with this view?

Arguing whether the government should use money for the arts or use it for other things is a vital concern of society. Some visionaries, including the speaker, speak a world in which the spending money on the arts from the government is wast and it should be used to do other things. In this essay, I will explain the reason why I agree with the speaker’s idea with the opposite idea.

At a glance, the idea that investing of the government for the arts is useful seems reasonable. The arts are one form of cultures, so that they should be protected. People can learn the past cultures from Statues and pictures. For instance, in Japan, the government spends much money on statues of Japanese Gods and Ukiyoe, a Japanese type picture, to save them for descendants to experience Japanese old cultures. However, this investment is only reasonable only when all citizens are wealthy. In the real situation, there are some poor citizens, and so the government should use much money to rescue them, in stead of the arts.

The chief reason of my assertion is as follows: the government should spend money to save the poverties, because the main aim of the government is to mitigate the current citizen’s life, not to protect the arts. The government should make saftey nets, supplies work training programs and then support non-workers to obtain new jobs. For example, in 20 century, Japanese government constructed a safty nets system to save poor Japanese citizens, and for them, it offered work trainings and helped them to get a new occupation.

In sum, I would like to stress that speaker’s idea- the government spending on the arts is wast and it should be used for other things- is reasonable, since the purpose of the government is for its citizens to have better life. Therefore, I agree with the idea and I believe that spending money on poor people will ameliorate the country in the future.