Some people think that History is one of the most important school subjects while others think that in today’s world, subjects like Science and Technology are more important than History. Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion.

Living in an information era, some people believe that the advances of technology have prompted the revolution of our ways of living and thus represent the most important subject for students in school. Others maintain that, history, filled with stories and lessons, paves our way to developing into a fully-fledged person. While both perspectives have merits, I tend toward the view that Science and Technology evolve to be the most significant discipline in this age occupied with renovations.

To begin with, early exposure to state-of-the-art scientific researches and technologies proves to be an edge that would help students quickly adapt to a working environment. Regardless of the occupation, computer science is pushing the boundaries of what human beings can achieve with the aid of artificial intelligence and machine learning. For instance, university graduates without an IT background are not as competitive as those who have started learning Python, a frequently used programming language, from a young age. Thus, learning updated skills in the technological field is imperative and a prerequisite for a prestigious career.

That being said, many people might argue that a certain amount of historical knowledge helps mould students into resilient and perseverant characters. Having seen various historical successes and failures, people have a greater chance to hold on in adverse situations in their personal and career life. However, in modern workplace, where flexibility and life-long learning are much appreciated, this might mean failure of adjustment. By contrast, people who seem to be less patient of personal mistakes and more tolerant of novel techniques will quickly be more adept to the ever-changing market needs. In other words, having a good command of history is not as much an advantage as emerging skills that suit the need.

With the above in mind, it is clear that both disciplines are essential, however, the time invested in learning up-to-date scientific and technological skills will present people with an unique advantage in this ever-changing job market, whereas the resilience provided by history learning might make people more conservative to embrace changes, thereby less favored by recruiters.