Some people believe that nowadays we have too many choices. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is suggested by some people that people are faced with too many choices these days. I completely agree with this notion that the choices are overwhelmingly bewildering and will outline my arguments as follows.

The most prominent reason for an excessive amount of choices is the progressive trend of industrialisation. In response to people’s ever-increasing need for convenience and their pursuit for uniqueness, companies are nowadays investing heavily in supplying people with a tremendous pool of choices, which is consequently confusing rather than beneficial. The clothing industry is a telling example. Given the variety of brands, materials, and styles, eventually, making a choice of which T-shirt to buy would end up costing too much time, not to mention that more often than not, the different choices do not represent a large difference in essence. For this reason, the development of manufacturing industry provides us with probably more choices than we need.

Alongside the influence of industrialization, globalization is further compounding the issue of a redundancy of choices. As it gets easier and easier to travel to any corner of the world, students who choose to broaden their horizon by getting further education abroad are confronted with essential yet worrying decisions to make: which continent they would be going and which university they are going to apply for. While people generally consider it as an edge in comparison with several decades ago, when cross-country journey was immensely difficult to make, the decisions are just too important that students might just apply to as many post-graduate programs as possible. It is not surprising that this might be at the expense of opportunities to more prestigious universities had they narrowed their choices and invested all energy into applying the ones they wanted the most. In other words, extravagant choices might be distracting.

Taking the above into account, it would be clear that the choices people are granted nowadays are too many for reasons of industrialization and globalization. It is more bewildering for people than beneficial. People need to be cautious so as not to get immersed with the excessive choices.