Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country while some people think it is bad Discuss both views and state your opinion

Hosting international sport events are extremely prestigious for a nation. While some believe that this will be beneficial others think there are more drawbacks. This essay will discuss both the viewpoints before providing an opinion.

There are numerous benefits of hosting large scale events. There will be an influx of tourism due to people related to the event such as visitors, players, broadcasters, officials etc which will in turn boost the economy of the country. In addition, government will improve the pre-existing infrastructure of the city such as airports and road as well as build new ones like building new gyms and swimming pools. Hence, there will be a surge in employment rates as more people would be needed in tasks like construction and advertisements. More earnings can be generated by selling tickets for the event and traditional products.

However, there are several drawbacks as well to hosting such events. Government will spend a large percentage of national revenue to organize such affairs as well as build the new infrastructures which fall into disuse after the event has ended. Due to this, the amount spent will be recovered from the citizens in the form of tax. Additionally, traffic congestion in the hosting city will increase thereby raising the levels of air pollution.

To reiterate, although the nation will be greatly benefitted from the promotions of hosting such large scale events, I strongly believe that the drawbacks outweighs the merits and instead of hosting such events government could take steps to improve the lives of people in the country.