Some people think that human history has been a journey from ignorance to knowledge. Others argue that this underestimates the achievements of ancient cultures, and overvalues our achievements.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

During humankind's history, lots of improvements in human life were made. We have created scientific achievements that made us living longer and better, and we have accomplished important cultural facts which elevated our morality.

The amount of discoveries that science made changed over years. It should be mentioned that in recent years technology has had a rapid growth. More than ever in fact we have raised life expectancy, and we created brilliant inventions like trains, automobiles, computers, telephones and internet. These examples show that today’s technique is more developed than in the past.

By the opposite in the past there were made such high level achievements that they can seem unreal. Thinking for example of the Pyramids, the creation was so unreal that people thought god had built them. Today it would be impossible to build something like that. In fact they have been incredible constructions which would be difficult to replicate also with today’s technology. Other examples could be found during the twelfth century, with the construction of gothic cathedrals

Although ancient people achievements have definitely an high value, I personally think that human culture and knowledge improves with the passing of decades. The level of recent buildings, for example, in absolute manner has no rival.

In conclusion, even if in the past were created memorabilia, today’s culture, technique and art have reached new heights. Personally, without overestimating them, I admire present people for what they are doing every day.