Many students choose to take a gap year before starting university, to travel or gain work experience.

Do you think this is a good idea or a waste of time?

Nowadays more and more students who attended their last year of high school decide to take a gap year before enrolling their college courses. In my opinion this is not a great idea.

Even though it is an awesome opportunity to get a deeper knowledge about themselves, I think that is a waste of time. Students have a lot of time in high school to decide in which undergraduate course they fit best. A person aged eighteen years is supposed to have a well formed vision of life. School teaches students how to create their identity from the most early stages.

Moreover, youngsters who are taking such long pauses, would be compromised in studies. In particular, people who stop the studying routine, are not used anymore to memorize a lot, as students usually are. For example, when adults, after having worked for some years, decide to enroll into a master, they come into lot of difficulties and they usually give up their courses.

Although taking a gap year has lot of disadvantages, for many students is not a choice. Everyone has different time in making life-long choices, and someone struggles a lot in deciding his future. By traveling around the world and meeting other cultures, a person can find himself and finally choose his path. Adding a year of work experience is proven to give a similar outcome in students and not to add new skills. Teenagers in fact usually do not pursue qualified jobs in these periods and they have not the opportunity to improve dramatically their curricula.

In conclusion, in my opinion, taking a gap year before starting college is mainly a waste of time. It could be a good idea just for the ones who are not sure about what to do next.