Some people think that instead of preventing climate change, we need to find a way to live with it. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The climate has always been changed since we have records: the Earth experienced glacial eras and dry periods, but the global warming we are assisting today is something different, because it has happened in an incredible short leight of time. This anthropogenic warming must be stopped, and I totally disagree with those who propose to adapt our way of life to it.

To start with, a significant part of the planet is seriously endangered by the raising of the temperatures, and the population living there can not simply become more flexible because those place will not be able to sustain the human life. For instance, many islands in the South East Asia could disappear under the sea, because the oceans level is increasing due to the melting of the polar ice. Moreover, the hotter temperatures cause longer period of drought causing the death of entire ecosystems and, ultimately, the desertification. It is clear that the change of the climate is dramatic and can seriously harm the life of the people, the plant and the animals.

Speaking about animals, the greenhouse effect is a serious threat for the conservation of thousands of species around the globe, especially those who live in the colder areas. If the humanity will not act in the next years animals such as the polar bear, the penguins and the seals will live only in captivity because the losing of their habitats. Those devastating effects are destined to spread even outside the polar circles: the scientists reported how tropical fish such as the barracuda are now able to live in relatively cold environments, as the north Mediterranean sea, endangering the local species and, ultimately, the food chain.

To summarize, the climate change is a serious and real emergency and the humankind should pose a serious set of strategies to cope with it, instead thinking about adaptation, because the long-term consequences are unfixable and can be a risk for the survival of many animal species, including the human itself.