Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The environment is endangered and that is a fact. Almost all the scientists agree on the harmful effects of the industrialization, especially on the climate, which is becoming hotter. Some people argue that such big and complex issues cannot be faced by the people, but only by the countries and the big corporations. I strongly disagree with this opinion, because both the governments and the companies are influenced by the individuals.

The influence of the populations is particularly clear when we speak about the governments: nowadays the most part of the countries are characterized by democratic systems, in which the lawmakers who are about to be elected present programs to the public, so the electors can chose the politicians among the most sensitive towards the ecological problems. Moreover, the described mechanism continues even after the elections, because the public opinion and the press can monitor the elected official on a constant basis, and make petitions for new eco-friendly laws and protest against any measures against those purposes, if necessary. For instance, in the United States there was recently a great demonstration against the pollution caused by the oil companies and such an actions leaded the autorities to forbid some dangerous oil research practices, such as the so-called "franking".

It is clear that the power of the people can extend even towards the most powerful corporations. If the masses act united, can change directly the policies of the multinationals even in a direct way. First and foremost, if a company do something against the environment, the consumers can boycott the products in favour of other more eco-friendly corporations. Many studies shows how the consuming of plastic bottled water is decreasing, considering that the public opinion is becoming aware of the damages of the plastic products.

To sum up, I believe that individuals have a lot of power and a positive attitude for more sustainable policies can be enacted only from "the bottom to the top" of the society and not the other way around.