Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment. Only governments and large companies can make a difference.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a controversy over whether individuals or the nations is responsible for protection of the environment. Some people think that it is only the duty of large companies and the leaders ,and not citizens.I tend to disagree with this point of view and the reasons will be discussed In this essay.

It is argued by certain people that big companies and the leaders are in a better position to protect the surroundings.They claim that government have the power to enact rules and regulations that guides members of the society.This can be achieved by setting penalties and banning old vehicles and generators that can emit carbon monoxide gases which are dangerous to the health of the citizens.

In addition, large companies can also be of help to the society by ensuring that the location of industries are far away from the residential homes to reduce noise pollution ,which can cause deafness to members of the community, ensuring waste products, such as oils,contaminated water and plastics are properly disposed off to avoid the contamination of water and agricultural products.

However, there are convincing reasons why I do believe that the individuals also have a significant role to play in the health of the surrounding environment.Firstly,by environmental campaign thus informing the members of the populace of the benefits of reducing the usage of private vehicles and use more of commercial buses,this therefore reduces the emission of carbon dioxide in the atmosphere , prevents traffic congestion .

Secondly, sanitation programmes performed by the citizens which involves picking up of dirts in the surroundings,ensuring that the waters are drained properly to prevent the infestation of mosquitoes and rat which will serve as a means of transmission of infection.For Instance providing a well fitted lid for disposal of refuse.By doing this,the health of the environment is guaranteed and this can only be achieved by team work from the populace.

In conclusion , although the states can guard the ecosystem ,I believe that the members of the populace are in a better position to protect the environment by awareness programmes.