With the rise of e-books come the decline in paper books. Some people see this as a good step forward while others do not.what are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

The rate of proliferation of technological invention is on the increase as a result, the increase in e-books would lead to a decrease in paper method. It is thought to be a good step by some people while reverse is the case for others. This essay will discuss the merits and demerits of such trend.

On the one hand, the benefits of e-books include ,firstly, it is convenient .This gives the individuals the opportunity to surf the internet with a phone or laptop and good network connection at the comfort of his or her home, with little or no distraction .Secondly, e-books are advantageous because it is very portable,and all the informations and materials needed are in a phone and this could easily be carried around unlike the paper book that occupies more space.Thirdly ,it saves cost.The stress of buying paper book will be drastically reduced thus this promotes an environmentally friendly atmosphere.

However, despite the benefits, there are some drawbacks. One of which is that it will increase the rate of unemployment.For instance, the printing press, their source of income could be through this method and with the advent in the use of e-books,this would lead to a decrease in the purchase of paper books and as a result, companies will not be able to recruit workers. Another problem is that it strains the eyes.A research survey conducted by an optometrist indicates that 70% of eye problems occur as a result of lights rays from the phone or laptop in the course of reading book or article online.

In conclusion although the use of e-book have some benefits such as it cost effective,easy to carry about and to use ,however ,there are some setbacks.