Some people think international car-free days are an effective way of reducing air pollution; however,
others think there are some other ways.
Discuss both views and give your opinion
While international car-free days are thought to effectively reduce the level of air pollution, some other
people believe there are alternatives that are also effective. I will discuss both of these views in my
essay below.
On the one hand, it is true that exhaust fumes from cars are majorly responsible for polluting the air as
they contain a relatively high proportion of pollutants such as CO2. By having some days without cars on
the road, no harmful smoke will be released into the atmosphere, and this will therefore improve air
quality. This policy is extremely effective in big cities around the world. Take Beijing, the city known for
its dirty air and its atmosphere covered with smog, for example. Since this car-free policy was strictly
operated, the air quality of the city has greatly improved.
On the other hand, local governments should encourage the use of public tranport like subways because
it produces a smaller quantity of pollutants and is less likely to damage the air. Also, the disposal of
waste, especially plastic waste that emits toxic fumes if burned carelessly, at landfills should be closely
monitored. The final and the most effective way is to use sustainable and environmentally energy
sources, for example solar or wind power, to replace fossil fuels in the long term.
In my view, those measures are all effective in addressing the problem of air pollution, but only to a
certain extent. Such a problem needs to be dealt with by different approaches and I always feel that if
there is only one way being implemented, it will not be enough.