Some people think that the internet has brought people closer together while others think that people and communities are become more isolated. Discuss both sides & give your opinion.

The Internet has been in widespread popular use for just over two decades and serve as a major tool for communication. Some people say that the Internet has narrowed distance among people, while there are others argure that it isolates people from real society. In this essay, I will look at both sides of the argument and give my opinion.

On the one hand, it is widely accepted that our relationship are closer thanks to the Internet. The Internet helps people to maintain existing ties, often to strengthen them. A large amount of the communication that takes place online is often with the same set of friends and family who are also contacted in person and by phone. Social networks such as Facebook, twitter enable us to find and contact with our high school friends who we has since lost touch with. Moreover, people around global are online and using the same websites, which gives both individuals and businesses more opportunites than ever before to extend our networks and reach out to people we may otherwise never meet. For example, on Facebook, million groups about music, fashion, sport, health,...have been built so that people can easily make friends and chat with someone who share the same interests with them. Obviously, the Internet does bring us closer together as it offers a platform through which we can interact with people we already know as well as the unknown.

On the other hand, cyber is said to damage social connections of its users. Social media sites can make it more difficult for us to distinguish between the meaningful relationships we foster in the real world, and the numerous casual relationships formed through social media. By focusing so much of our time and psychic energy on these less meaningful relationships, our most important connections may weaken. The internet seduces people into spending time online at the expense of time spent with friends and family. Internet-addicts tend to sit at home and not going out to talk to their neighbors across the strees, visting relatives or traveling with friends. Hence, it is clearly shown that the internet sucks people away from in-person contact and fostering real-world disconnection.

In conclusion, although it is undeniable that online network has brought us enormous useful services, I hold the view that cyber has ruined our interaction with reality. It is high time local communities try to encourage people to take part in local activities for a better society development