Some people think that the internet has brought people closer together while others think that people and communities are become more isolated.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is commonly thought that with the fast development of electronic devices, people started communicating more through the internet and it brought people closer. However, others are of the opinion that the World Wide Web has drove people further away from each other. While I agree that it is true that the internet brought people together, I do not think that it is the internet’s fault that human beings became more isolated.

On the one hand, with the rapid increase in technology’s development, people, especially adolescants, started communicating through various web sites. In my opinion, I believe that this is an upside of the internet, because such sites made it easier for the internet users to meet new people from different cultural backgrounds and gave them an opportunity to diversify their friend group. For example, Facebook, an extremely popular social networking site, has millions of users who interact with each other daily, expressing their opinions on a broad range of topics and building communities with people who have common interests.

On the one hand, the internet has resulted in isolating its users. Internet addiction is at increasingly high rate among people, mainly teenagers. This is mainly because they have not fully developed self control and they became dependant on various gizmos. This issue resulted to people shutting themselves down from the outside world and completely isolating themselves from their family and community. For instance, people spend hours on their laptops and mobile phones because of their internet addiction.

However, I do not agree that it is the internet’s fault, since most of the people chose to use their electronic devices and substitute real communication with online conversations. I believe that people should learn self control and seek help from their friends and family, if needed.

In conclusion, with the dramatical rise in the internet’s development, it brought a number of advantages and disadvanatges to the society. Such benefits and drawbacks include bringing people together and isolating them from other human beings and communities.