Some people think that it is best for extended families to live together. Other people think that it is best for the nuclear family to live away from the extended family. Which one do you prefer?

Marriage will create a dilemma for a young spouse as well as those who have already had a child. When more factors are thought, the decision for internal family matters will be convoluted, no exception with the living choice; whether to live together or individually without the extended family. I would like to elaborate my point of view favouring having an individual place of living is the best choice.

Many people underline that the financial efficiency of living with a whole family is a significant contributor to this choice. They apparently assume to save more money as they do not have to spend their expenditure for buying or renting a house; this case applies to those who live in their parent’s house and their parents pay for all maintenance fee. By this approach, they could allocate the money for other positive purposes, such as investment.

However, I am bringing two primary disadvantages adhered to living with a big family. The first relates to privacy where the boundary limitation between families will be obscure, thus implicating the core family secrets. For example, if there is an internal conflict, the whole family will know it. I am personally against it since the internal conflict has to be private. Therefore, one of the best ways is to live in a personal house with our children and wife.

Secondly, the downside pertains to freedom; it is believed as one of the cardinal pursuits in life. Similar to the privacy matter, if we reside with our big family, our freedom will be contained as more people live in the same house. Analogically, the more persons live together, the more interests we have to take into account. Consequently, the absence of this consideration will arouse inevitable conflicts and this situation will be challenging to create a placid and enjoyable ambience.

To sum up, I agree that the conjugal family is best to live separately from the extended family. The benefits of this living fashion can be more advantageous and compensate for its downside. I also regard that the downside mentioned earlier is only about material that is, at least for me, not everything. Some more important matters should be emphasized, such as mental healthiness to be reached through better freedom and privacy.