Some people think that it is a good thing for senior management positions to have very high salaries compared to other workers of the same company or organization. To what extend do you agree?

Over the recent years, it has become normal for high-level managers to receive astronomical salaries in comparison to ordinary labors. In my view, not only is not this trend positive, it can also lead to a range of negative consequences for both individuals and companies.

Allocating a considerable proportion of company's profit to manager's pay can affect the company negatively. Human resources are said to be the principal pillars of any firm because actually, those are who work hard. Therefore, employee's satisfaction should be vitally important for senior managers. If workers, particularly those who are enough competent in terms of academic and practical qualifications, realized that despite making effort, the main part of company's revenue is spent on paying manager's salary, they will perhaps lose their motivation. Consequently, these workforces either leave their job or work inefficiently, resulting in lack of profitability in long term.

At the same time, a huge gap between manager's income level and their employees can be detrimental for them. Having lived in luxury, senior leaders are more likely to not understand their worker's level of life. As a consequence, they usually do not pay enough attention to improve workplace conditions, for example providing promotion prospect for employees. This trend gradually leads to a bigger gap between high- level and ordinary workers, and eventually elimination of collaborative work atmosphere. In this way, top managers may lose their popularity and power which are significantly important for them to keep their position.

In conclusion, I do not agree with an unreasonable difference between employer and employee's income level as this can be disadvantageous.