Some people think it is more important to plant more tree in open areas in towns and cities than provide more housing. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Urban tree planning has been a controversial matter in the light of the growing population and the increasing global awareness of environmental issues. Some people hold that growing population makes more demand for housing space in open areas rather than for the planting areas. From my point of view, I partly agree with this idea.

On the one hand, the architecture makes the basic environment and living condition for people. It is undeniable that houses have to be constructed due to the prediction of the population. This is certainly true, however, open space in urban areas can be available for architectures and green space at the same time. Many landscape architecture designs, such as the New York Central Park, create a smooth connection between the architecture complex and nature. By doing so, these open spaces ready for development in urban areas can be envisioned, which trees will be planted around the buildings and people can enjoy the pleasure brought by the green spaces once they leave the houses.

On the other hand, it is certainly true that trees bring considerable benefits for promoting the urban environment, but it is unreasonable if planting areas occupy most of the open spaces. One of the major concerns is the conflict between the space for planting and the space for constructing buildings. Beside that, the huge number of trees will create a large number of habitats for unexpected insects and mammals. Part of them might be invasive species and cause quantities of problems let alone solving the island effect or other global issues. In addition to that, such a high-density group of trees probably cannot survive for a long time in the existing environment because the hard and compacted urban surface might not perfectly match the environmental condition for growing trees.

In conclusion, open space should not be used for trees more than for buildings and vice versa, because both the urban construction and tree planting should be executed according to a detailed urban planning.