Some people think it is more important to plant more trees in open areas in towns and cities than provide more housing. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is a common belief that plantations in vacant lots in towns and cities are more essential than housing construction. To a certain extent, I agree that planting trees will provide citizens and the environment with numerous benefits. However, I also think that building more shelters and apartments in those areas will help develop many aspects of society. And this essay will address the reasons for my views as follows.

On the one hand, I would agree that trees and flowers are necessary in order to improve the air quality, provide more shade and noise reduction for city residents. There is an obvious fact that industrialization in urban areas caused trees to be cut down and replaced by tall glass buildings. This is the key factor in rising environmental pollution so growing more trees in open areas is important because this will increase a huge amount of oxygen and filter out harmful gases. According to a recent survey, a variety of roads in Vietnam are greened and being encouraged to be green by the government. In addition, under the shade and the quiescence coming from the boughs with luxuriant foliage, people can take a rest after the hectic days in life. This is not only good for mental and physical health but also brings prettier landscapes to the downtown. That’s why people have the International day of forest approved by the United States every year.

On the other hand, I also think that building shelters in vacant areas are just as crucial as planting trees. Firstly, the lack of houses will enhance the rental price so citizens will hardly obtain their own homes and have a wide range of pressure in the financial sector. Thus, the proportion of homeless people and crimes will grow up significantly, and it also leads to more social evils. Secondly, the youth often tend to move to the city to study, work, and start a business due to its convenience and modern living conditions that it is too hard and costly to change those habits. For instance, if we construct more buildings in the hometown, commuters have to go a long distance for work, and the government has to spend money to upgrade service quality in the suburbs while we can use the quality in the city which has reached a certain level that is hard to replace. These things reduce productivity and cost a large amount of money from shipping to modification.

In conclusion, why I support the view that planting trees in urban areas is a key contribution to influencing how efficiently people and the environment could gain, I disagree that providing more housing is not important with many negative consequences of its lack above.