Some people think it is more important to spend public money on roads and motorways than on public transport system such as railways and trams. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that more funds should be allocated for infrastructural developments such as roads and motorways than enhancing the public transportation systems such as railways or trams. I feel, infrastructure is important but not by compromising funds assigned to public transport system. The following paragraphs will illustrate the merits of this position.

Firstly, better quality of roads would increase the levels of safety and easy traffic congestions in mega cities. This can result in lowering the mortality or injury rates. Furthermore, spending on road repair or widening the exiting roads can create safer travel modes for commuters and offer free-flow traffic solutions during peak hours. For instance, the road repairs prior to winter are critical in reducing accidents during ice rain days. Hence, spending money on road networks gains support of many people.

However, I would argue that spending on public transport is a better investment for several reasons. Compared to vehicles, high-capacity public transit modes can accommodate a larger number of passengers at a time. Australia is a classic example of integrated public transport networks. A recent report indicates that each train on Sydney’s railways removes approximately 980 cars from its roads. Therefore, a modal shift from private to public transport would tremendously alleviate urban congestion, a bottleneck in big cities. Furthermore, efficient public transport systems are a contributor to a cleaner environment, and it is pivotal in reducing carbon emissions.

In conclusion, both modes of transport will contribute to coexist in our rapidly growing economies. However, based on the above-mentioned arguments, I acquiesce in the view that public money should be invested in more on public transport systems as it directly mitigates the effect of climate change by reducing the carbon foot prints rather than using road networks.