Some people think that it is a waste of money for countries to host big sporting events like the world cup, and that the money would be better spent on other things. However, others think that hosting large sporting events has a clear, positive impact on a country.

Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Give reason for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In recent years, becoming host nations for worldwide sporting events such as the World Cup has become a publicly recognized phenomenon. While some people are convinced that expenditure should be cut to prioritize other significant items, I would argue that hosting sporting events will bring both advertising and commercial benefits to countries.

On the one hand, placing too much emphasis on sports can lead to a waste of money. There is no denying that, compared to sporting events, education, healthcare services and transportation are higher on the agenda. Therefore allocating resources to construct stadiums, renovate infrastructure is unnecessary investments, especially when these improvements are only used on specific sporting occasions. In addition, enhancing sports facilities to fulfil the needs of sports teams can result in less money available for other categories which are worth prioritizing expenditure on. Therefore, national authorities should be careful when making decisions to host sporting events as they could have adverse effects on citizens who are in need of government subsidies.

On the other hand, becoming a host nation for a premiere sporting event certainly opens new opportunities in both advertising and commercial ways. In terms of advertising impact, hosting worldwide events definitely gives nations a chance to become the centre of attention on newspapers and other media which are good means of promoting their public image. Additionally, organizing sporting events definitely do wonders for host nations’ finance. For example, the World Cup 2018 held in Russia has been proven to generate huge profits in terms of accommodations and customer services. These activities are surely boosters for national economy and a source of foreign money.

In conclusion, although there are some drawbacks to host countries in worldwide sporting events, it seems to me that those countries can gain enormous benefits with regard to economy and their public image.