Some people think that it will better for the large companies and industries to move to regional areas outside large urban centers.

Do the advantages outweigh disadvantages?

The proposal in moving the multinational companies outside the cities is an argument both supported and refuted by many. While some believe that this will be beneficial as to promote economic growth in rural areas, others think that it will not be favorable to the company. It is agreed that the advantages outweigh disadvantages as it will be discussed.

The major factor to consider in relocating the factories in rural places is economic growth. As this means that more jobs will be generated and people’s quality of life will improve. For example, in the recent survey at the University of Queensland, it concluded that when businesses are spread in the adjacent towns, more residents become employed resulting in the improvement in people’s life. Furthermore, it can also lead to an increase tax collections, making it sufficient to meet the needs of its residents. All of these are the positive indicators of economic growth. In contrast, if the rural areas were not converted into a business district, the town will not progress and still belong to a backward society.

The downside effect of massive transformation of the town into an industrial park is the cost of relocation. A huge amount of outflow will be required for a company to reconstruct their infrastructure which includes the manufacturing plants and the satellite offices. The rate of return for this investment will take them a long time to recover and this will have a negative effect on the expected income of the company.

In conclusion, I supported the argument that the advantage of economic growth that has a beneficial effect on the society greatly outweigh the relocation cost and late return of investment by the company. It is projected that more companies will be encouraged to do business outside the city.