Some people think that it would be better for large companies and industry to move to regional areas outside large urban centers Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages

Undoubtedly, the influx of people to big cities is caused by the greater job opportunities. Given that the headquarters of a lot of entities are located in cities, some feel that to tackle the problems related to this, governments should encourage large firms and the whole industrial sector to relocate in the countryside. In this essay I will explain why I believe that the benefits of such a decision do not outweigh the disadvantages.

Supporters of the movement of companies to the rural areas state that this would be an effective solution to problems like traffic and pollution. Indeed, traffic congestion and environmental problems including air pollution are reconciled with the establishment of industries in major cities. New York City, for instance, is known for the congested city center due to the extended use of cars; people there choose to commute by car, and most of the time they are occupied in the branches of large corporations in this city. This means that a sheer amount of greenhouse gasses is emitted in the atmosphere provoking air pollution, and thus environmental issues to the cities. If authorities convinced the companies and industries which significantly pollute the air to move to the outskirts of cities or to the regions of the countries, gas emissions would be decreased, and environment would be improved.

Even though the mitigation of pollution has merit, there are many who feel that the relocation of big firms in the countryside would not result in positive impact for the environment. If large companies decided to move to the rural areas, there would be need for a massive construction of buildings to host them. In other words, the rural scene would be extremely different compared to the present, while trees and parks would be eliminated in order to give space to the new buildings. In Greece, for example, when an industrial plant of a big company moved to a regional area, the nearby village polluted and changed to a horizontal city because of the deforestation. Obviously, if large companies migrated to the rural areas, there would be inimical effects on the environment.

In conclusion, although some people argue that the entities and industry should be relocated away from the urban areas, there are many who advocate the opposite. I am of the view that the upsides of such movement far outweigh the downsides related to the construction of new establishments in green areas.