Some people think that it would be better for large companies and industries to move to regional areas outside large urban centres. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is often believed that displacing large-scale industries to areas away from urban locations have some benefits. In my opinion, I think this can bring about more advantages to the city residents than any disadvantages it might have.

Despite that minor issues below, there are several benefits to consider moving big companies to regional locations. Firstly, the traffic congestion and population of a city will reduce drastically. Workers will leave away from the city each day to work and sometimes may relocate permanently near to their workplace. This, in turn, reduces the city’s population. Secondly, the reduced traffic congestion will lead to a reduction in pollution since lesser cars on the roads mean lesser emissions. For example, a recent study found that when the companies in Kyoto's heart relocated to the nearby rural areas, the city’s traffic congestion, as well as pollution, decreased tremendously.

Admittedly, there are some basic issues when big industries move out of a city. One main problem is workers who, mostly, reside within the city limits will have to travel for long distances to work. This can also negatively impacts the workers’ life, as they will need to spend more money on travel than they usually do. Another reason is the difficulty faced by these companies to transport their goods to the cities’ markets, an aspect in which they never spent a penny while being inside urban locations. For instance, the turn over of industries that were once inside Kyoto hugely affected by the new costs due to the finished goods’ transportation.

In conclusion, reduction in traffic congestion, population and pollution far outweigh any drawbacks that could result from displacing big industries to rural places from cities.