Some people think that language teaching should take place in small classes, while others believe that the number of students in a language class does not matter. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Learning a language has become increasingly important because of globalization, which naturally leads us to question whether the size of classes has impacted on language learning or not. Although some consider it makes no difference to students, I believe that students in small classes can grasp a language faster and more accurately.

Indeed, some may attach no importance to the size of the class since the majority part of language study is practice after class. To be specific, what the instructors can impart to students is only vocabularies and grammars, so only attending classes and listening to the instruction of teachers are far from enough for people to learn a language well. Learners need to apply what they learn in class to practice and try to use the language in their daily lives after classes. Therefore, whether students are in a big class or a small one, what remains the same it that they have to keep speaking and writing in that language for the sake of high grades and great academic performance.

However, some people are strong advocators of small classes and they believe that learning in small classes is conducive to the learning efficiency and effectiveness of students. In fact, communication and interaction may be the crux for the mastering of a language. And it is only in small class that every student has the opportunity to talk with their teachers in the language they are learning. As a result, whenever they make mistakes in organizing a sentence or pronunciation, their teachers will spot them in time and give them instant guide. Otherwise, sometime students may be unable to realize their mistakes immediately when practicing alone, which would take a toll on learning efficiency and effectiveness.

In conclusion, while some people do not place significance on size of language classes, I hold the view that students benefit more in small classes because of the characteristic of language learning.