Young people are often influenced in their behaviors and situations by other of the same age. This is called “peer pressure”. Do the disadvantages of peer pressure outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that peer pressure is an important phenomenon in the development of young people. While I understand that it may induce some adverse impact on adolescents, I believe that the benefits do outweigh the drawbacks.

On one hand, young people may pursuit materialistic goals when comparing with others, thus putting financial pressure on their families. People in a young age are likely to become self- abased when their friends show off the high-priced and newest belongings which they do not possess, so they may generate irrational purchasing desire. For example, children want to have the designer clothes and top-end cellphones bought by their parents if the people around them own such things. Therefore, families of these children may suffer from economic hardship and even have conflicts between family numbers.

In spite the drawbacks mentioned above, I believe that peer pressure can simulate young people’s motivation to study hard, which could help them achieve their potential and make their way in life. Young people have their self-esteem, and do not want to be seen as intellectually inferior to others. Seeing their classmates have the ability to do something, such as solving a challenging mathematic problem, they tend to dedicate themselves to learning knowledge in order to improve their academic performance, which can help them achieve success eventually. If they are detached from their peer group, young people only know their own condition, and it is hard to inspire the potential and develop the capacity of them.