New parents should attend parenting courses to learn how to bring up their children well. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Cultivating an outstanding child is the dream of every parent, which naturally leads us to question whether attending professional courses to learn how to bring up children is necessary for new mothers and fathers. I believe they do not need to take such classes.

Initially, comparing with attending courses, new parents have better choices, their own parents, to teach and help them raise children. Because grandparents of children had spent decade years on bringing up their children, they have rich associated hands-on experience which can be imparted to new parents. Moreover, it is very convenient for new parents to consult children’s grandparents since they can live together. In this way, whenever there are some problems occurring, a helping hand will be given by their grandparents instantly, which cannot be achieved by the teachers or lecturers in parenting courses. Therefore, it is unnecessary to waste money in attending such courses.

Furthermore, parenting classes provide general training instead of personalized services, which has little help on new parents. In order to cater for every people’s taste, training agencies only offer standard curriculum and teach their students, new parents, standard knowledge. For example, parents who have their children for the first time will be instructed the method about how to teach children to speak and informed the average age at which children begin to speak. That knowledge cannot satisfy unique needs of different children and help parents discover their children’s potential that needs to be developed.

In conclusion, considering that new parents have better alternative sources of parenting courses, and such training has drawbacks itself, I strongly advocate that there is no need for new parents to participate in parenting classes.