Some people think that the main purpose of schools is to turn children into good citizens and workers, rather to benefit them as individuals. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The important role of schools in each person's life is almost undeniable. A great number of people argue that the major aim of schools is to educate offspring to become model staffs and inhabitants for the society rather than to bring them benefits as individuals. I personally disagree with such view, as I believe that schools give people equal chance to develop for their own sake as well as for the society.

On the one hand, schools do benefit human individually. Children do not only learn new concepts or study academic subjects, which provide them with knowledge and broaden their mind for their own mentally progress, but also meet new peers, who may become their best friends in the future, which encourage development of their emotional life. Besides, physical education and extracurricular activities at schools also boost teenagers' stamina and physical health. All of that devote to prepare for the later phase of children's life, when they have to stand on their own feet to work and feed themselves.

On the other hand, after improving each person, schools also tend toward the society. A healthy society must be made of healthy individuals. Nobody can live alone; all citizens can lead their own life but they have to place it in the society context, since they can not survive without other human beings. After nurturing themselves with schools' support, they should use that to contribute to the society by becoming exemplary citizens as well as diligent employees. Schools have to make sure that they provide essential knowledge needed for human development because of the fees they received from each students; however, they are basically public asset, so they also have the duty of improving the society as a whole.

In conclusion, I believe that schools target at benefiting the whole society, however, I think that they offer equal advantages individually.