Some people think that managers alone should make decisions in the company, while others think that employees should be involved in the decision-making process too. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Today, many organizations involve employees in the decision making process. Some people argue that decisions should only be taken by the management, while others feel that employees too should be a part of the decision making process. Both views will be discussed in this essay before a conclusion is made.

Managers have got wide experience and vast knowledge. They are familiar with the way the business operates. They are also aware of the strengths and weaknesses of their employees. This knowledge and experience allows them to make decisions that are beneficial to the company, its stakeholders and employees. What’s more, while making important decisions several confidential documents are taken into consideration. Security can be an issue if all employees are involved in the process.

On the flip side, there are many reasons for employees to participate in the decision making process. They also want to feel that their contribution is valued. If the management involves them in the decision making process they will feel more confident of their roles. This will encourage them to stay longer with the same organization. Studies have shown that one way of reducing the attrition rate is to involve employees while important decisions are made. Wrong decisions taken by the management can have a negative impact on the employees. If they are part of the decision making process, they will be able to make appropriate suggestions. In addition, employees who work in a transparent environment tend to have a better bond with their manager.

To conclude, there are many reasons to involve employees in the decision making process. While the organization does not have to discuss all the confidential information with them, they should at least be allowed to make decisions that have an impact on them.