Some people think that money is one of the most essential factors in promoting happiness. Do you think people can be happy without much money? What other factors contribute towards happiness?

Money is considered an essential factor for people to feel happy about their life. But we don’t really need too much money to actually make us happy, because obviously there are other issues such as self-satisfaction and love from family or friends can also contribute to the happiness of an individual.

It is defiantly true that we can’t live without a reasonable level of basic materials which are purchased by money. Just imagine the daily life of a person who needs to pay for everything, with no money he or she cannot even survive in modern society not to mention being happy. I think nobody would ask refugees in Syria whether they are happy or not because it is already difficult for them to survive, happiness is certainly luxury.

But after people having met the basic survival needs, are they automatically happy? I am afraid not. Happiness was and has always been luxury for most people, it is not because the amount of money, but because the recipe of happiness is more than simply a lot of money. In fact, there are plenty of filthy rich people feel unhappy. And meanwhile thousands of ordinary people are enjoying their simple but priceless happy lives.

In my view, as long as our basic needs being met, more money would not necessarily make us happier. Indeed, factors like self- satisfaction and being loved probably have greater marginal effect. For instance, workaholic who filled their life with work would feel happier when they finished an excellent project as they got huge self-satisfaction from it. A child who experienced parents divorcing at an early age might set finding someone to set a complete family as his life goal when he grows up, because being loved is the vital thing to his happiness.

To summarize, I think people need a certain amount of money to survive before they can feel happy, but self-satisfaction and being loved are also closely linked to individual’s happiness.