Some people think that more money should be spent to promote the use of bicycles in cities. Others, however, believe that cities should focus on investing in public transport systems.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In recent years, government expenditure on the mode of transport has become a noticeable issue. While it can be agured that there should be more budget allocated in encouraging the usage of bicycles, I believe that it is more important to improve the public transit systems.

One the one hand, there might be some reasons why people think it is more essential for people to use bicycles in cities. The first reason is that it actually helps to minimize air pollution in urban areas. With the usage of bicycles, there will be a dicrease in traffic jam caused by cars, so the emission of toxic air pollutants like carbon monoxide and sulphur dioxide will be reduced. Other than that, the citizen could take up a healthy lifestyle to improve their’s fitness by travelling from one place to another by bicycle.

One the other hand, I suppose that there should be more investment made to the public transport system. Modes of travelling such as buses and trains would be more efficient than bicycles. We can reach our destination in shorter amount of time and on top of that, it is more comfortable than riding a bicycles. In addition, the improvement of public transport services can provide more job opportunities for citizen. There would be an increase in demand of bus drivers and train conductors, thus crime rates in cities can be controlled.

In conclusion, although it seems truely to improve the usage of bicycles in cities, I personally believe it would be much better for governments to direct their attention to public transportation.