Some people think news has no connection to people s lives So then it is a waste of time to read the newspaper and watch television news programs To what extent do you agree or disagree

Many people believe that it is a waste of time to read the news which they think is irrelevant to what is happening to our own life. I totally disagree.

On the one hand, when people think that news is unrelated to their life, they tend to think about international and entertaining news. For them, most reports on international emergencies and events that they read about are pointless as they are happening outside of their local community. Also, news coverage of celebrities on TV or the newspaper is purely entertaining and is meaningless to those who show no interest in entertainment. Thus, reading the news seems to be purposeless.

However, they seem to be much biased, as any piece of news can be remarkably helpful in our lives. For example, the news about celebrities could be valuable for the fans resorting to the news media to stay informed about who and what they are interested in. The second example that could be compelling to prove the importance of reading news is the information about the outbreak of coronavirus in Italy. If we-know-who had not ignored this state of emergency declared officially via the mass media and blindly visited the affected area and returned home without an honest health declaration as instructed on the news, they might not have been quarantined and been a factor to spread the disease. Otherwise, those concerned and informed could take corresponding actions to stay safe right away and keep their community safe.

In conclusion, it seems to be not a good idea to think that there is no interrelation between the news and our lives. Therefore, I do not agree that reading news is a time-wasting activity and I think that people should read the news to be up-to-date