Some people think that the news media nowadays have influenced people’s lives in negative ways. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Much attention has been drawn to the wide-spread effect of journalism on the way people live nowadays. On one hand, i am inclined to believe that false news can be emotional and physical detrimental to the other parties, especially local people. On the other hand, hardly can we deny the extent to which news media has revolutionized the modern life.

To assess the potential drawback, we must bring the question of information authenticity into focus. Assuming an individual came across a piece of information which had been posted on social media, for example, and had not been verified, there would be a possibility that person misunderstood, and controversy arose. Not only do reporters delivered news hastily without waiting confirmation of the source, but some columnists deliberately distort the news to attract more readers. As a result, a single individual or organizations might be affected or even be bankrupted. Another the reason why many citizens do not put their faith in newspaper is that they are well considered about the importance of it.

Although so far, one can readily draw the conclusion that the disadvantages outweigh the advantages, we must put positive features into perspective before judging whether media is truly reliable. Being notified about military, agriculture, medical as well as disaster matters such as Covid 19 or Category 5 storm, people are able to manage to make preventative measures. Knowing the Crime rate is soaring in particular areas, for instance, people will be at the lower risk of Theft and Burglary. On top of that, national news absolutely make citizens very secured and put all their focus on works.

Taking both pros and cons into consideration, they point me to the conclusion that whether we should trust the news is dependent on where we hear the news. From my personal perspective, i suppose it can be attributed as an essential aspect of life.