Some people think that one of the best ways to solve environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is considered by some that increase in fuel prices will be the most effective way to reduce environmental problems. In my opinion, although this approach will increase travelling cost, it is necessary to implement so that more pressing issue of global warming can be minimized.

Opponents of this approach argue that rise in fuel prices will result in problem for poor people. According to them, this action will increase travelling cost which will have a little effect on rich people, but this will make travelling difficult for poor. For example, in Gujranwala, 60 per cent of citizens cannot afford their own cars and travel using local transport due to its affordability. However, higher cost of travel due to the high oil prices will strip them from the only luxury they have.

On the other hand, this is necessary to overcome more serious issue of global warming. Carbon dioxide emission is mainly responsible for this effect and the biggest source of it is the combustion of fossil fuels in the industries and vehicles. For instance, intergovernmental panel on climate change has reported that 2 degrees rise in temperature has been recorded as a result of last year’s Carbon dioxide accumulation. Therefore, increase in fuel cost will reduce its usage, as a result this will minimize carbon emission which is necessary to avoid adverse climate changes.

In conclusion, although rise in fuel prices will cause travelling problem for poor, it is completely justified by taking in consideration its positive effects on environment. To protect our coming generations from serious environmental issues, these strict steps are necessary to take.