Some people think that people who choose a job early and keep doing it are more likely to have a satisfying career life than those who frequently change jobs. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is an argument over whether or not those who keep doing the same job for a long time are more satisfied with their work life than those job-hobbing frequently. For me, I strongly believe that job fulfillment is not dependent on doing either few or many jobs, but on one’s decision about his/her career path.

On the one hand, there are obviously a lot of advantages of doing the same job in the same place for long. Firstly, the familiarity with the workplace and colleagues gives people a great sense of security and comfort. This is particularly right for ones that have no career ambitions and prefer to have a steady job, by which they can earn a living and support their family. Secondly, it takes time for the personality and competence of an employee to come to the knowledge of the senior managers, which brings him/her promotion opportunities if he/she desires to move up the career ladder. Thirdly, employers always value loyal people who devote the whole life to the development and prosperity of the company and are usually willing to offer a generous retirement package.

On the other hand, changing jobs often does bring people certain benefits. Admittedly, frequent job-hopping due to lack of expertise or social skills is not a sign of a good career path. In this situation, people should take a career break and reflect upon everything and address the problems if they wish to pursue a successful career. Whereas, for those that are keen on going on adventures in their career life, taking on different jobs in differents stages of life provides golden opportunities to acquire knowledge and experiences. Undeniably, working for many corporations in various fields and meeting many types of people helps broaden one’s horizons and provides him/her with a broader perspective. Moreover, in case of companies making cutbacks or going bankrupt, people who have changed jobs several times are the ones that are least worried about being made redundant since they are familiar with changing working environments and are never over-reliant on any single company to make money.

In conclusion, I would contend that whether people are content with their career or not is not necessarily subject to the number of jobs that they do. Instead, it is actually a matter of choice of each person.